What is Color.Blind?

A.M. Talley
3 min readMay 3, 2019

--

www.onyxcreative.net

Our Color.Blind banner often stirs the curiosity of onlookers. For those brave enough to explore, they often ask, what is Color.Blind? We often respond with the question, “What do you think Color.Blind is?” The yet to be indoctrinated say, “This must be for those that are color blind,” or they ask, “Are we coloring blind?”

As for the first question, our program is not specifically designed for the color blind, but they are most welcome to participate. The simple answer to the second question is, yes, we are indeed coloring blind. Color.Blind is for everyone and Color.Blind is suited to the needs of each and every person who experiences it. Yes it is an intricate process, but the best introduction is through the eyes of one of its participants.

Meet SelfCare Addict Network member and US Airforce airman, krystal colon, as she describes her Color.Blind experience.

Kyrstal’s Color.Blind Paint Experience

As an analyst professionally and an artist at heart, the Color.Blind experience began as a something I had already subconsciously planned. I planned to make circles and some kind of figure representing myself in the middle and lines and saturation on the sides… a carefully articulated representation of how I am currently interpreting life. As you can see, my finished product doesn’t quite follow those guidelines I set for myself.

What really happened was all that planning went out the door once the blind fold came across my eyes and I relinquished control of the paint. I started off very timid and in a comfort zone, circling around the right side of the canvas with my dominant hand. It wasn’t until my instructor Ann-Marie coached me through the tension I was holding in my wrists and shoulders. She invited me to explore and move beyond the limits I was imposing on myself. I then felt open enough to explore the left side of the canvas. At the same time I accepted the fact that my canvas wasn’t going to look like anything I could have ever intended.

The most impactful part that I felt through the painting journey and what I see reflected in my painting was when Ann-Marie stepped away and I was left with the canvas, her encouragement, and my inner thoughts and emotions. At that time is where I started to explore, gently and cautiously the top of the canvas. I’m not sure if I’m supposed to interpret every thing and every second of this experience, but this detail at least left me with the feeling of bliss in autonomous adventure. I usually look to others for acceptance, guidance, and companion, which I will never stop doing because I truly believe in community and not exclusively leaning on your own understanding. However, that section where I was completely alone and took the plunge to discover uncharted sections of my canvas turned out to be the most peaceful, and the most authentic part of the finished product.

What I’m taking from this is to trust myself more, and accept that I do have my best interest in mind and at heart.

As you can see from Krystal’s experience, there are a number of ways you could feel before, during and after the process. The Color.Blind experience is a personalized journey of your own design. Its true power comes upon experiencing it for yourself. The range of experiences are as unique as each individual that embarks upon this process. As your guides, we are deeply thankful for the immense privilege of living in our own purpose of creating safe spaces where emotions are explored and problems are solved.

Your Turn!

Problem solving is considered one of several desired “21st Century Skills.” Learning how Color.Blind Paint Experiences can promote growth in problem solving can help individuals and businesses strengthen themselves, their services, and programs.

Join our Color.Blind Experience and find out for yourself today!

--

--

A.M. Talley

I’m an army veteran, former Addiction Counselor turned Natural Skin Care Product Developer. I write about stress, sensory self-care, art, aromatherapy #SAHM